Stay Woke.

So something horrible happened yesterday, and it made me realize how precious, but more so temporary life is. So the day was actually lovely, I went out charity shopping (thrifting) with my parents (on another note, considering doing a blog post of all the things I bought, let me know if you would like to see that? As I am an avid bargain hunter and vintage fashion / street style is a huge part of my life). Anyway the day was lovely, but as we was pulling into the crescent where we lived a sinking feeling hit my gut. The street was full of police cars and a van, and a ambulance (with the lights off) was blocking our drive.

I have not felt such a sinking feeling in my stomach since we had to get my dog put down, it was horrible. We wasn’t sure if it was something to do with us, or our family and so on. So, we pulled up next to the ambulance and rushed to our door, luckily it wasn’t too do with us. SO we waited, anxiously to find out what was going on. I live in a small village, and a small crescent so we know everyone really well so it was hard to not be worried. After seeing various police officers and paramedics coming and going from the house we found out that someone had killed themselves. Not going into anymore details than that, because this is intrusive enough.

That was honestly one of the most eye opening things to I suppose, be a part of? I mean we saw the chaos, and it hit me how much of an impact that is going to have on their family, like how will they cope? Also makes you realize how easy it is too die. Like within minutes they were here and then gone, honestly it shook me up so much and made me realize how much i actually needed to see something like that. As I have mentioned frequently on this blog I suffer with depression, and obviously suicide is something that is so often associated with it – and for good reason. I have visions / images of me dead a lot, as sort of symptom of my depression? I don’t know, but it happens a lot and I just try and brush past it as it has been happening for long enough for me to grow custom to it. HOWEVER, seeing the after affects of suicide, and seeing my mums reaction and the way it made me feel made me stay WOKE. Like yes, you may see yourself committing suicide in your head, but that is just a chemical reaction as a side effect of your depression, and this only reminds me that I do not want to die.

Leave a Reply

