‘But they seemed so happy?’

So, after the recent occurrences and hushed whispers and gossip within the village concerning the suicide that I mentioned in my previous post, the overwhelming importance of understanding mental health has never been so prominent. All you ever here are the same phrases reworked, ‘oh but he seemed so happy!’. How many suicides, and how many attempts is it going to take to make people take action, and learn more about depression and the reasons why people are depressed – and the symptoms? I feel like I am stuck in a horrendous nightmare on a loop, where everyone’s reaction is always the same yet no one has took notice enough that more needs to be done.

Yesterday my mum came into my room, with worry in her eyes and she said, “but you’re okay aren’t you at the minute? And you would say if you are feeling down?”. At this moment I nearly burst into tears, imagine what my mum must be thinking and feeling all the time, that she doesn’t know if I am genuinely okay or not because we live in a society that is so brilliant at keeping up appearances.  I am one of the lucky ones I suppose, that I do not feel the need to hide my sadness from my family – but I know for a fact most people don’t.

However Men feel so pressured into a notion of masculinity that makes them reject everything that is female, emotions along with it. Raised to keep everything bottled up inside and not show how they truly feel, and then people are surprised when a man commits suicide when they seemed happy? PEOPLE, WAKE UP.  More needs to be done to make people, not just men – feel more comfortable about talking about their emotions and depression, they need to know that it is okay to not be okay. We all can’t keep living this lie that everything is perfect, like the images and personas we see plastered all over social media – none of it is real. Isn’t it sickening that we live in a time when we can hardly tell the difference between the happy and the sad, simply because they do not feel safe or comfortable enough to be themselves. There is nothing wrong with depression, there is nothing wrong with feeling sad. You have to learn to accept it as a part of you, and not fight the fact that you are different.  But as a society we need to do more to make those that are suffering feel like they are not alone.

Leave a Reply

