Pleasure VS. Happiness

“Everyday we are faced with numerous decisions and choices. And try as we may, we often don’t choose the thing that we know is ‘good for us’. Part of this is related to the fact that the ‘right choice’ is often the difficult one – the one that involves some sacrifice of our pleasure”

I have been on the road to uncovering happiness and contentment in my life, and part of this journey led me to the bestseller novel ‘The Art of Happiness’, that is driven mostly by the Dalai Lama’s guide to the meaning of life and how to be truly happy. The above quote was pulled from the book and runs so true to my own life, and explains so much about the decisions that I have made in my life.

Throughout my life I have been battling depression, due to PTSD from a traumatic event in my childhood, and In more recent years I have been making all the wrong choices in order to achieve some sort of pleasure, but ultimately it never ended in happiness it was just depression side effects disguised as a good time.

This start of a never ending cycle, as I got deeper and deeper into recreational drug use and mental and physical fights with myself, the right choice drifted further and further away and the so called pleasurable route seemed easier. But now looking at it, it is clear that these decisions were simple due to the fact that I was unhappy. The main goal in life, as the Dalai Lama states is to be happy, and most of what gives us a quick fix of pleasure usually does not coincide with happiness.

But what is worse is that it even got to that point of self awareness, where I knew why I was doing what I was doing and that it wouldn’t lead to my happiness but would disguise itself as being pleasure in the short term, but at that point in my life that was okay because I did not see myself having a happy life.

However now that I have took a step back and looked at it, it all make sense and I can see where I was going wrong. Now I know that before I do anything I must ask myself if this is going to give me pleasure or happiness, or not. As I now know, and learnt the hard way, that pleasure most definitely does not result in happiness. I am so glad that I have stumbled across this book as it validates what I already knew, and also makes me realise that I am not the only one who acts in this way – it is a part of human nature. So I know what I need to do, and have a new perspective too see things with, and I am so grateful for it.

 

Leave a Reply

