Body & Mind.

When  life becomes too complicated and we feel overwhelmed, it’s often useful just to stand back and remind ourselves of our overall purpose, our overall goal.

One of the biggest symptoms / side effects of depression is undoubtedly lack of energy,  and lack of motivation. Thus physical activity and exercise is as far from your mind as you can get, especially when getting out of bed feels like a work out in its self. Now that I am on my road to recovery, and on my way to achieving happiness I have finally started up exercising again.

As I have been talking about previously I have been absolutely engulfed in the words of the Dalai Lama, and one of the biggest things he, and the religion of Buddhism believes in is the practice of yoga. Which brings together training of the body and the mind, to relieve stress, make you feel uplifted and connected with the universe. Before my depression got out of hand, I used to enjoy practicing yoga, it always left me feeling whole and uplifted, and motivated for the rest of my day.

So I started it up again, doing a few basic sequences out in the glorious sunshine and around nature. I cannot describe how amazing it felt, a truly natural high which I have not felt in a long time. Doing something so empowering, and liberating with the sun warming up my skin was so beautiful and I felt so much better for doing it. This all came about after what I spoke about in my previous post, making sure you utilize every day to its full positive potential.

I’m super proud of myself for starting to take care of my body again, and for once (unlike before) it is not about trying to loose weight, it is more  about looking after my body and health and not let it deteriorate like it did before. As that was when I was my lowest, and I am trying now to aim for my best.

Leave a Reply

