Graduation.

The day finally arrived, the climax of three crazily challenging (of both the body and mind) years. I had the same basic nerves as everyone else, of getting on stage in front of hundreds of people, and trying my best not to trip and fall like the clumsy gal I am (SPOILER: I didn’t fall, hooray!).  But alongside that I also had this sinking feeling that all the friends that I drifted from / pushed away due to my crippling depression at the time wouldn’t really want a lot to do with me.

It was a very emotional day, officially saying bye to a place that holds so many memories, and was the final stamp of approval on “you are no longer a student”, and brought flooding back all the distinctive student type memories that I will hold dear for the rest of my life. Seeing my parents so proud of me made me even more emotional, and as my dad shook the hand of my favourite tutor to thank him for all he has done for me I couldn’t hold back the tears.

And, to my surprise I couldn’t have been more wrong about my friends. I was nervous and apprehensive to begin with, but it was just like it had always been before (again making me even more emotional). Being stood there with the girls that have been there with me from day one, helping me and seeing me through a haze of bad behaviors and bad depression – and seeing how far we have all come , filled me with excitement and drive for my future.

Although my best friend couldn’t be there, and I was thinking of her the whole day and how much I missed her, I knew that when she graduates, I will be there for her and we can celebrate together when the time is right, and it will all be worth it.

So, bye MMU. Thanks for the memories, even though (some) weren’t that great. But I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

